Omicron Variant Travel Restrictions

Last update: 12/1/2021  1:15 p.m. 

With the news last week of the omicron COVID-19 variant, both the United States and Canada have issued new international travel restrictions. ALPA will continue to monitor this situation and update this page as needed.

Effective Monday, November 29, 2021, the TSA issued Security Directive 1544-21-04, which restricts entry of non-U.S. citizens who were in the Republic of Botswana, the Kingdom of Eswatini, the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Republic of Malawi, the Republic of Mozambique, the Republic of Namibia, the Republic of South Africa, and the Republic of Zimbabwe during the 14-day period preceding their entry into the United States. 

The security directive is not applicable to crewmembers, U.S. citizens, and other specific visa holders.

In Canada

As of November 30, Transport Canada issued Interim Order 48 along with guidance for air carriers based on the new variant.

Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and people with status under the Indian Act, regardless of their vaccination status or having had a previous history of testing positive for COVID-19, who have been in a growing list of countries in the previous 14 days will be subject to enhanced testing, screening, and quarantine measures. These individuals authorized to enter Canada will be required to obtain, within 72 hours of departure, a valid negative COVID-19 molecular test in a third country before continuing their journey to Canada. Upon arrival to Canada, regardless of vaccination status or having had a previous history of testing positive for COVID-19, they will subject to immediate arrival testing. All Canadian travelers from these countries will also be required to complete a test on day 8 after arrival and quarantine for 14 days.

Canadian flight crews will be allowed to enter Canada but should expect to undergo day 1 testing immediately upon arrival (for monitoring purposes). Canadian flight crews will not, however, be required to go into 14-day quarantine or undergo the day 8 COVID-19 testing.

Foreign travelers who have been in one of the listed countries within the past 14 days are not allowed into Canada. This restriction includes foreign flight crews.