Release #14.72
August 7, 2014

ALPA Honors Airline Pilot Excellence at 60th Air Safety Forum

WASHINGTON––The Air Line Pilots Association, Int’l (ALPA) honored excellence in advancing the piloting profession with the presentation of 11 prestigious awards and citations during its 60th Air Safety Forum, held this week in Washington, D.C.

During ALPA’s two-day forum, which featured expert panels covering long-standing and emerging aviation safety, security, and pilot assistance issues, the union also recognized outstanding accomplishments in each of the three areas.

“ALPA’s Air Safety Forum creates an incomparable combination of expert perspectives on the latest aviation safety, security, and pilot assistance issues and recognition of the dedicated professionals who take outstanding action to advance the highest standards in daily flight operations and through industry-wide collaboration,” said Capt. Lee Moak, ALPA’s president.

The association gave its highest safety honor, the Air Safety Award, to Capt. Mike Bender, a FedEx Express captain, for his outstanding commitment to advancing air safety. Capt. Bender, an Anchorage-based MD-11 pilot, was commended for his dedicated work in investigating and preventing airline accidents.

ALPA bestowed Superior Airmanship Awards on Delta Air Lines Capt. Edward Bird, F/O Kenneth Wasson, and F/O Daniel Wright for their outstanding leadership and teamwork in successfully handling a potentially catastrophic flight emergency in Madrid, Spain, in December 2013.

The union recognized PSA Airlines Capt. Robert Hamilton with its Aviation Security Award for his work to advance aviation security. Capt. Hamilton serves as chairman of the ALPA Security Council and has made notable contributions to ALPA’s laser threat awareness initiative.

Jazz Air First Officer Isabelle Caron received ALPA’s Pilot Assistance Award. F/O Caron has worked with Canadian pilots as part of the Canadian Pilot Assistance Committee, which provides guidance and help to pilots facing challenges in any aspect of their professional or personal lives that may affect their work.

ALPA recognized Delta Air Lines Capt. Don Wykoff with a Presidential Recognition Award for his tremendous leadership role in developing new flight and duty-time rules for commercial aviation. Capt. Wykoff’s modern, science-based approach led to the Federal Aviation Administration’s new science-based regulations.

ALPA awarded a Presidential Citation to Delta Air Lines First Officer Steve Jangelis, a Boeing 757/767ER pilot who chairs ALPA’s Airport and Ground Environment group. F/O Jangelis was recognized for working closely with industry stakeholders to promote runway safety and minimize runway incursions and excursions.

Capt. Aaron Fry also received an ALPA Presidential Citation. A Bombardier CRJ 200 pilot who flies for Air Wisconsin, Capt. Fry has for two years chaired the Air Wisconsin pilot group’s Pilot Assistance Committee, which provides guidance and help to pilots facing challenges that may influence their work.

In addition, Delta Air Lines First Officer Ali Frohlich was named Outstanding ALPA Airport Safety Liaison (ASL) for his work to advance aviation safety at Northwest Florida Beaches International Airport (ECP). F/O Frohlich has served as an ASL for 10 years, providing airline pilots’ safety perspective on airport operations.

Rounding out the awards, ALPA named Miami International Airport (MIA) Airport of the Year in part because of its track record of maintaining effective communication with Delta Air Lines F/O Carlos Suhr, the union’s ASL at MIA.

Founded in 1931, ALPA is the world’s largest pilot union, representing more than 51,000 pilots at 31 airlines in the United States and Canada. Visit the ALPA website at or follow us on Twitter @WeAreALPA.


CONTACT: ALPA Media, 703/481-4440 or

Stay connected with ALPA
FacebookTwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS FeedsLinkedInBlog