Release #09.052
August 5, 2009

CanJet Flight 918 Crew to Receive ALPA Int’l Aviation Security Award for Valour in Washington, D.C.

WASHINGTON—The Air Line Pilots Association, Int’l (ALPA), will recognize the crew of CanJet Flight 918 with its Aviation Security Award for Valour for their bravery during an attempted hijacking of their aircraft on April 19, 2009.

Capt. James Murphy, F/O Glenn Johnson, Flight Attendants Carolina Santizo Arriola, Tony Bettencourt, Anu Goswami, Nicole Rogers, and Heidi Tofflemire, and Security Specialist Garry Knickle will all receive ALPA’s Aviation Security Award for Valour. The award recognizes courageous acts or noteworthy bravery by individual pilot members or flight crews who have protected passengers, other crewmembers or employees, cargo, or the aircraft from acts of terrorism or life-threatening criminality.

The award will be presented on August 6 during ALPA’s Air Safety Week Awards Banquet in Washington, D.C.

“The CanJet crew’s brave and decisive action allowed the passengers of Flight 918 to get off the aircraft and reach safety during a high-pressure situation,” said Capt. Prater, ALPA’s president.

“Their valor in the face of an extremely dangerous situation is commendable, and I congratulate them on receiving this well-deserved recognition,” added Capt. Dan Adamus, ALPA’s executive vice-president and ALPA’s Canada Board president.

“It is no surprise that even under extraordinary circumstances the CanJet crew would respond with professional decision-making. Safety for passengers and for each other is always in the forefront of crew responses in ordinary and in crisis situations,” said Capt. Steve Spencer, chairman of the CanJet pilot group. “All of us at CanJet are proud of our brothers’ and sisters’ efforts that resulted in a safe resolution.”

Founded in 1931, ALPA is the world’s largest pilots union, representing nearly 54,000 pilots at 36 airlines in the United States and Canada.

# # #

Contact: Linda Shotwell or Rusty Ayers, 703/481-4440 or